Register your interest
Please wait...
+44 (0)1904 727600
Enrichment | Posted 03.05.2017

QM Musician Of The Year 2017

Over the course of last week I had the pleasure of listening to so many fantastic performances from the girls who entered the Elementary and Intermediate sections of the 2017 ‘QM Musician of the Year’ competition. I also had the difficult task of choosing the winners. The standard this year was exceptionally high and this was down to individual effort, perseverance and discipline when practising. My thanks go to Dr Horseman and Dr Passmore for their support and assistance as part of the Elementary and Intermediate competition adjudication and to all of the accompanists who supported performances. On Thursday we saw the climax of a very busy week with our Advanced competition which was held in St Margaret’s Chapel. Each of the performers held their Grade 8 certificate of performance and we were treated to a display of fantastic musicianship. We welcomed former Director of Enrichment, Stuart Thompson, back to QM and he had the unenviable task of selecting the winner of the Advanced section. Jane Xu was the announced the deserved winner and commendable performance certificates were awarded to Daisy Forshaw, Lilian Liang, Katrina Qian and Mr Grant.

Below is the full list of winners and commendable performances from the Elementary and Intermediate sections.

Elementary Competition – overall winner: Isobel Wilcox
Piano section winner: India Lawrence (commendable performance: Lara Peel)
Strings section winner: Eleanor Usher (commendable performance: Daphne Forbes)
Woodwind/Brass section winner: Ella Peel
Singing section winner: Isobel Wilcox (commendable performances: Olivia Hamilton and Isabel Burrows)

Intermediate Competition – overall winner: Amelia Mohan
Piano section winner: Amy Coates (commendable performance: Vanessa Chan)
Strings section winner: Victoria Siu (commendable performance: Amy Coates)
Woodwind/Brass section winner: Emily Unsworth (commendable performances: Grace Barnes and Lily Burrows)
Singing section winner: Amelia Mohan (commendable performances: Sophie Wass and Sophie Standen)

Congratulations to all of the participants for their excellent performances.

By Mr Duff